Contact details for the Department at this time

The Department of Psychology remains dedicated to supporting the campus population. We are actively practicing social distancing, which means we remain open, but we are limiting the in-person operating hours in the Psychology main office. At this time, we are open on Tuesdays 8 am - 3pm. If you need to contact the Department, please do so between these hours via phone at 828-262-2272, or anytime via email.

(Updated 1/28/21)

Schedule a zoom appointment with a Psychology Department Peer Advisor


Welcome to the Appalachian State University Dr. Wiley F. Smith Department of Psychology. The University is a member institution of the seventeen-campus University of North Carolina. Boone is located in the beautiful western mountains of North Carolina. With mild summers and winter skiing, the area is quite attractive to visitors with interest in outdoor activities.

The University has over 19,000 students and has been ranked by US News and World Report as one of the top 15 universities among southern public and private institutions since 1986. The Department has 36 full-time doctoral-level faculty members, approximately 1000 undergraduate majors and 80 full-time graduate students in the the clinical psychology (Psy.D.) doctoral program and three master's degree programs including Experimental, Industrial Organizational/Human Resource Management, and School Psychology, the latter also provides a specialist degree in addition to the MA. The Department provides a clinic for training, research, and service to the community. The faculty are dedicated to the mentoring of students and to offering opportunities for experiential learning.

Mission Statement

The mission of the Dr. Wiley F. Smith Department of Psychology is to engage in teaching, scholarship, and service, in order to promote and advance understanding of the science of psychology, its application, and its utility to our students, fellow scholars, the University, and the public.


Dr. Pam Kidder-Ashley to co-facilitate NCSPA book study

Pam Kidder-Ashley, Professor in the Department of Psychology, will co-facilitate a book study for the Mountain Region of the NC School Psychology Asso...

Drs. Sandy Gagnon & JP Jameson Win University Teaching & Engagement Awards

Dr. Sandy Gagnon won the award from the College of Arts and Sciences based on her ability to impart knowledge, inquisitiveness and the desire for cont...

Dr. Lindsay Masland wins national teaching award

Dr. Lindsay Masland was awarded the 2020 Jane S. Halonen Early Career Excellence in Teaching Award on behalf of APA Division 2 - The Society for the T...

Dr. Michael a featured panelist at the Symposium for the Vermont Suicide Prevention Center

Kurt Michael, Ph.D., the Stanley R. Aeschleman Distinguished Professor of Psychology at Appalachian State University, explored what schools can do to ...

Experimental Master's students Hunter Norris & Cassandra Smith present at SJDM

Second year experimental student, Hunter Norris, and experimental alumni Casey Smith ('19) presented their research on anchoring biases and wishful th...